Wij gebruiken cookies. accepteer

Teitur (FO)

Teitur released his debut album, Poetry & Aeroplanes in 2003 on Universal Records. Its simple, beautiful songs made it a critical hit and he toured the USA and Canada extensively, garnering a reputation amongst other cool artists. During this time, he found the time to co-write the song Choux Pastry Heart which featured on the 4 million selling debut album by Corinne Bailey Rae.

2nd album Stay Under The Stars, followed in 2006, going Gold in Denmark and two Danish Grammies followed. By 2008, he had performed 700 gigs in 20 countries and released 3rd album, The Singer, the first to be issued in Britain. Garnering 5* reviews in The Guardian and The Independent ("a rare beast"), then came the UK only release album All My Mistakes, which was a retrospective of Teitur's career to date achieving his 2nd Album of The Week in The Independent: “..there's more than enough evidence here to bear out Teitur's assertion, in the title-track, that "all my mistakes have become masterpieces".

Teitur continued his eclectic career path, co-writing and performing with American contemporary classical composer Nico Muhly, and by writing for and producing other artists, including French star Nolwenn. In 2011 his Let the Dog Drive Home album was released to critical acclaim and In the meantime, Seal recorded Teitur’s song “You Get Me” as a duet with Italian superstar Mina and then recorded it for his own album, which was a top 20 hit around the world.

In 2013 he released the album Story Music, including a song arranged by the legendary Van Dyke Parks (Beach Boys etc) and in 2015 Teitur appeared at the legendary Ted Conference in Vancouver, scored the music for a Danish documentary, followed in October 2016, by Nonesuch/Warner releasing the album "Confessions", his contemporary classical album collaboration with Nico Muhly and the Holland Baroque orchestra, and then co-wrote and co-produced German star Judith Holfernes album in 2017.

Teitur's new album, I Want To Be Kind, recorded in New York with acclaimed producer Thomas Bartlett, is released worldwide on 24th August 2018, preceded by a sold out tour, showcasing the new songs.

foto © Trondur Dalsgard